The Essential Martin Luther King, Jr.

Clayborne Carson

TMLK coverhe Essential Martin Luther King, Jr., is the ultimate collection Dr. King's most inspirational and transformative speeches and sermons, accessibly available for the first time as an ebook. Here, in Dr. King's own words, are writings that reveal an intellectual struggle and growth as fierce and alive as any chronicle of his political life could possibly be. Included amongst the twenty selections are Dr. King's most influential and persuasive works such as "I Have a Dream" and "Letter from Birmingham Jail" but also the essay "Pilgrimage to Nonviolence," and his last sermon "I See the Promised Land," preached the day before he was assassinated.

Published in honor of the 50th anniversary of the 1963 March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom, The Essential Martin Luther King, Jr. includes twenty selections that celebrate the life's work of our most visionary thinkers. Collectively, they bring us Dr. King in many roles—philosopher, theologian, orator, essayist, and author—and further cement the most powerful and enduring words of a man who touched the conscience of the nation and world.

Included in this collection:

  1. Our Struggle (1956)
  2. Facing the Challenge of a New Age (1957)
  3. The Power of Nonviolence (1958)
  4. Speech Before the Youth March for Integrated Schools (1959)
  5. My Trip to the Land of Gandhi (1959)
  6. The Social Organization of Nonviolence (1959)
  7. Pilgrimage to Nonviolence (1960)
  8. The Time for Freedom Has Come (1961)
  9. Letter from Birmingham Jail (1963)
  10. I Have a Dream (1963)
  11. Nobel Prize Acceptance Speech (1964)
  12. Nobel Lecture (1964)
  13. Eulogy for the Martyred Children (1963)
  14. Our God Is Marching On! (1965)
  15. Nonviolence: The Only Road to Freedom (1966)
  16. A Time to Break Silence (1967)
  17. Black Power Defined (1967)
  18. Where Do We Go from Here? (1967)
  19. The Drum Major Instinct (1968)
  20. I See the Promised Land (1968) 

Ebook Price: $9.99

On Sale August 20, 2013

Buy it from: